Skip to main content

Congratulations Kathryn!

Departmental News

Posted:  Jun 14, 2018 - 12:00pm

Congratulations to graduate student, Kathryn Overton! She is the 2018 recepient of the Janet-Box Steffensmeier and John A. Garcia Award. 

The Janet Box-Steffensmeier and John A. Garcia Awards are designed to
encourage women and underrepresented graduate students in political science

to enhance their methodological skills by attending the ICPSR Summer

Program in Quantitative Methods of Social Research. Award winners are

selected based upon their academic records, research agendas, professional

goals, and methodological interests. Scholarship recipients of the

Box-Steffensmeier/Garcia scholarships receive a tuition waiver to attend

the four-week sessions of the ICPSR Summer Program. In addition, they are

given the opportunity to present their research at the poster session

during the Summer Meetings of the Society of Political Methodology.

Great job, Kathryn!